Barcelona superstar, Lionel Messi made the Ballon D’OR list for a record 14th time after he was yesterday named among the top 30 players across the world of football to make the list of nomination for 2018/2019 season organised by the France Football.

Lionel Messi who recently won the FIFA World Best Player and the European Golden Boot was named among expected players like Christiano Ronaldo, Virgil Van Dijk, Sadio Mane, Mohammed Salah and others.

Last season, Argentine play maker scored 36 goals from 34 matches with 13 assists in the Spanish League, 12 goals in 10 matches in the UEFA Champions League with 3 assists. In the Copa Del Rey, the Barcelona captain scored 3 goals in 5 matches and provided 2 assists. In the Copa America competition, Messi scored and assisted 1 goal each in 6 matches.

At the International Friendlies level, Messi played 2 matches and scored 2 goals in the process. In the Spanish Cup, he played one game and created an assist. In total, Messi played 56 games, scoring 54 goals with 6 penalties inclusive, creating 20 assists, receiving 4 yellow cards and one red card for last season.

The staggering statistic above made it possible for Messi to be selected as one of the 30 man list for the award.

ballon d'or

The most surprising omissions from the list are Brazilian star and former Barcelona player, Neymar Dos Santos whom after joining PSG has been nursing injuries and Real Madrid midfielder, Luca Modric who won the award last season.

Liverpool Football club had the highest number of players on the list, with six players. Manchester City came second with 5  players and Barcelona with four players.

Below is the list of the 30 man players nominated for the award;

Bernardo Silva (Man City/Portugal)

Heung-min Son (Tottenham/South Korea)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Portugal)

Alisson Becker (Liverpool/Brazil)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/Netherlands)

Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus/Netherlands)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool/Netherlands)

Kylian Mbappé (PSG/France)

Roberto Firmino (Liverpool/Brazil)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool/England)

Donny van de Beek (Ajax/Netherlands)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal/Gabon)

Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona/Germany)

Sadio Mané (Liverpool/Senegal)

Sergio Agüero (Man City/Argentina)

Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona/Netherlands)

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham/France)

Dusan Tadic (Ajax/Serbia)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)

Riyad Mahrez (Man City/Algeria)

Kevin De Bruyne (Man City/Belgium)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli/Senegal)

Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid/Barcelona/France)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egypt)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid/Belgium)

Marquinhos (PSG/Brazil)

Raheem Sterling (Man City/England)

João Félix (Benfica/Atlético Madrid/Portugal)


Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here